top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKaitlin Alexander

Rebellion: an act of violent or open resistance to an established government or ruler.

I recently realized that I've been so busy trying to prove that I don't care what the world thinks about me that I have been self-sabotaging my own goals.


If we are rebelling against society then ultimately we are confirming that society has power over us


If you are anything like me, stubborn as a mule, then you know where this is headed. The moment someone says something that makes you feel like you HAVE to do it because they said you should, you're like naw bruh, not me. Even though it was something that you were going to do anyway.


For example one day you’re minding your business brushing your teeth per usual, and someone comes up to you and says, tauntingly, “yeah, you better brush your teeth, like I said”. If you’re stubborn like me, you will stop brushing your teeth and look at them like “who”? Then from that point on you rather walk around stinky breath, not taking care of your teeth, because you’re too busy trying to prove to that person that they can’t control you.


Don’t be so focused on going against the grain and rebelling against societal rules that you rebel against your own rules and values.

I realize that the best way to prove to the world that its ideologies and values doesn’t make me who I am is to focus on me and DO ME. People are going to talk because most people are nosy and focused on what other people are doing anyway.

But, when you mind your business and do what you want to do, instead of trying to PROVE to the haters and business minders that they can’t control you, you stay attuned and aligned with your goals and values.


This realization made me wake up consciously and ask myself what it is that I wanted out of life. In a sense, it allowed me to drop the belief that other people cared about what I was doing long enough for me to see that in the midst of my rebellion I was self-sabotaging my life.

It also made me see how it was all in my head. How in my mind I had concocted up the belief that other people were trying to box me in, when all along, I have been boxing myself in. Boxing myself in with fear of what other people may or may not think of me. Fear of being wrong, fear of being right, and fear of failure.


I realize that I have to surrender this to God by giving up the idea that I can control people and the way they think about me and just DO ME! Whether someone thinks I am a copy cat, ugly, too loud, “too much”, “too little”, boring, wrong, right, pretty, successful, “the bomb”. I have to give it up.


I also learned that this is one way the enemy will attack you. We all know that the enemy comes to kill, steal, and destroy all dreams. Anyway that he can get you to STOP doing the right thing, pursuing your dreams and goals, he will do it.


This also exposes a weakness in your ability to trust and surrender to God. How long will you not do what you know is the right thing to do because of what other people may think or say? God told you to start a blog but you so busy trying to prove to the world that you’re different and don’t follow trends, that you never start the blog.


Who are you giving authority to? Are you giving in to the narcissistic control of society? Are you rebelling against society? If you are, then who are you listening too? Who has your heart? I believe that when we know who our authority comes from, no one can make us feel or act like we are under their “reign” or power. If we are rebelling against society then ultimately we are confirming that society has power over us.


Get it?


Check your heart: are you too busy rebelling against others that you can’t see that you’re rebelling against yourself?

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page